Learn more about Cancun Cenotes (Mexican sinkholes)

Discover the four kind of cenotes that exist, their characteristics, differences, but above all, what makes them special.

Lu’um Cenote

The youngest of all cenotes, is eight million years old. It is a cavern cenote with an upper dome that functions as the entrance. It is connected with the aquifer system through tunnels and caves.

Activities at the cenote:

  • Assisted rappel from 82 feet high (25 m) into the cenote.
  • Swimming in its spectacular waters surrounded by rock formations.
  • Small platform to dive from at 7 feet high (2 m).
  • Depth of the cenote: 69 to 82 feet (21 to 25 m).
  • Water tonality: turquoise blue.
Cenote Lu'um

Iik’ Cenote

An old cenote, known as ancient cenote. These kinds of cenotes have a limited natural flow with aquifer system due to the collapse of the ceiling.

Activities at the cenote:

  • Two circuits of zip-lines.
  • Cliff jump.
  • Swimming among water lilies.
  • Depth of the cenote: 33 to 43 feet (10 to 13 m).
  • Water tonality: emerald green.
Cenote Iik

Ha’ Cenote

A semi-open cenote, with an opening at the top with the same size as the cenote, which gives it a circular shape and allows light to enter.

Activities at the cenote:

  • Exploration swimming.
  • Tour through the cenote on board a kayak.
  • Admiring the flora and fauna of a cenote.
  • Depth of the cenote: 30 to 49 feet (9 to 15 m).
  • Water tonality: sapphire blue.
Cenote Ha

K’áak’ Cenote

An open cenote surrounded by big stone walls, completely covered with the lush vegetation of the mayan jungle.

Activities at the cenote:

  • Dive from a zip-line.
  • Enter the cenote from a waterslide.
  • Tour the cenote swimming or on board an inner tube.
  • Depth of the cenote: 23 to 30 feet (7 to 9 m).
  • Water tonality: green jade.
Cenote K'áak